Online Teaching: Thinkific and Mirasee

So, Skillshare left behind, I found myself with some “free time” on my hands, as far as continuing self-training was concerned. Just about then, I got an email from Thinkific inviting me to a special bootcamp created by Mirasee for course building. Pyramid detector on…. sign up…. get started.

Now, this morning as we drove to work, my best mate asked me just what this “training” I was doing was all about. I had already done Module 1 and its respective homework assignment and later today had to do the homework for Module 2, which I had gone through yesterday evening.

The only reason he knew that I was doing this particular course, and only peripherally, was because I had obtusely explained to him the circular pyramid I had observed in the Skillshare workshop. I purposefully do not share these “educational adventures” with him, as he is not a teacher and I can sometimes overlook that his eyes are frosting over as I excitedly explain this or that pedagogical theory over lunch.

An unpleasant, unexpected email

What brought the current training to his attention was a bit of a technical glitch I experienced yesterday. It’s kind of silly, but worth noting:

The course (called a “bootcamp”, reasons being clear once one sees the structure) has a rather “demanding” structure:

  • Sunday: Module 1 made available
  • Monday: Homework for Module 1 must be submitted by 11.59 pm.
  • Tuesday: Module 2 made available
  • Wednesday: Homework for Module 2 must be submitted by 11.59 pm.
  • Thursday: Module 3 made available / Wrap-up (no homework)

Now, using the word “must” fits right into the bootcamp nomenclature. If you are unable to submit your homework by the stated deadline, you will be bumped from the bootcamp. Wait, what was their language in the “bad news” email?

“We had to remove you from the Builder’s Bootcamp today, because you didn’t keep up with the deadlines for the course.”

Actively participate, your part of the deal

No second chances, either do your part or get “removed”. Actually, that’s fine with me, I expect students to do at least 80% of the work themselves anyway, teacher already knows the material, it’s the student’s responsibility to do the learning.

What wasn’t fine was that I had finished and submitted my homework on time and some supposed “error on our part” led me to receiving that unfortunate email. I got the “you’re out!” email right after the siesta and before the coffee and was kind of peeved and spent a half-hour writing emails and taking screenshots to show that I shouldn’t have gotten that email and shouldn’t be blocked from access to Module 2. They got back to me in short order and my account was reinstated. Darn technical stuff, just when you need it to work its best is when it does silly things like this.

So, that best mate was aware of that glitch, mostly because I growled and bitched for half an hour in his presence.

Which led him to asking me what the actual course was about.

The real motive behind the bootcamp

Now, again, I know him and know that when speaking about education I have to use clear, concise language and avoid the overly philosophical aspects, I paused, looking for the best way to explain just what the course was about, which is what I want to share with you.

Overall, the bootcamp, which is titled “Course Builders Bootcamp” is a brief introduction of a longer laboratory experience that is sold on the Mirasee platform. While it is informative and interesting, it is still one of those “try this tidbit out for free” type of courses that shows you the tip and hopes you’ll shell out the money for the rest of the iceberg.

Nothing wrong with that, it’s something I’ll end up doing myself, though probably not with the same, almost “scheming” tactic. While on one hand the course offers some valuable information, they don’t hesitate to let you know that it isn’t everything they could be telling you and that the best way to get at that additional wisdom is to sign up for the laboratory experience.

So, if you decide to check out the “Course Builders Bootcamp“, keep in mind that it is a sales pitch disguised in a one-week “intensive” mini-course on course building. You’ll find out some general ideas (many of which any good teacher already knows, some of which are what I kind of consider the “poisoning of Internet” — that is, how Internet changes how we do things….), do some homework, maybe get that unpleasant email telling you you’ve been booted, and you will definitely be reminded how much more complete the course is if you shell out the dough (and we’re talking money here, not just a couple hundred, four figures, go check out the pricing).

I’ll go into some of the general ideas of each of the three modules once I’ve finished the entire course. Suffice to share this general outline:

  • Module 1: Preparation, Research and Validation
  • Module 2: Online Course Marketing
  • Module 3: Course Creation, Delivery and Success

One thought on “Online Teaching: Thinkific and Mirasee

Tell us what you think....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.